Hogs sweep SEC Indoor Track & Field Championships

Hogs sweep SEC Indoor Track & Field Championships


about an hour ago SEC Staff

Photo: Arkansas Athletics

Results (PDF)

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Feb. 24, 2024)—–The Arkansas men’s track and field team and the Arkansas women’s track and field team claimed the 2024 Southeastern Conference Indoor Track and Field Championships here Saturday at the Lance Harter Track at the Randal Tyson Track Center. This marks the fifth consecutive year the Razorback men’s and women’s teams have swept the SEC indoor titles.

Arkansas won the women’s title with 131 points, followed by Florida (80), LSU (68.5), Texas A&M (61), Ole Miss (52.5), Georgia (47), Auburn (41), Tennessee (38), Alabama (35), Kentucky (30.5), South Carolina (30), Vanderbilt (25), Mississippi State (11) and Missouri (9.5).

Arkansas won the men’s title with 163 points, followed by Florida (106), Texas A&M (71), South Carolina (42.5), Ole Miss (42), Kentucky (41.5), Georgia (38), LSU (32.5), Tennessee (32.5), Alabama (31), Auburn (29), Mississippi State (23) and Missouri (10).

Cliff Harper Trophy winners Ole Miss’ Jalani Davis won the women’s trophy with 20 points, while the Rebels’ Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan and Arkansas’ Peter Maru won the men’s trophy with 20 points.

Heptathlon Arkansas swept the top three spots in the men’s heptathlon with Yariel Soto Torrado finishing first with 6,017 points, followed by Marcus Weaver (5,970) and Daniel Spejcher (5,965).

Individual champions crownedA total of 22 other individual champions were crowned Saturday.

Arkansas’ Romain Beckford won the men’s high jump with a leap of 2.25m/7-4.5.
Texas A&M’ Lamara Distin set a collegiate record in the women’s high jump with a mark of 2.0m/6-6.75.
Ole Miss’ Jalani Davis claimed her second SEC title by winning the shot put with a mark of 18.61m/61-0.75. She also won the weight throw on Friday.
Florida’s Flomena Asekol won the women’s mile in 4:38.35.
Florida’s Parvej Khan won the men’s mile in 4:00.18.
LSU’s Brianna Lyston tied the meet record in winning the women’s 60m with a time of 7.08.
Auburn’s Kanyinsola Ajayi won the men’s 60m in 6.60. 
Arkansas’ Amber Anning clocked a nation-leading time of 50.43 to win the women’s 400m.
Georgia’s Christopher Morales-Williams set a world record and won the men’s 400m in 44.49.
LSU’s Michaela Rose set the collegiate lead in winning the women’s 800m in 1:59.25.
Texas A&M’s claimed the men’s 800m title in 1:47.39.
Florida’s Grace Stark won the women’s 60m hurdles with a time of 7.90.
Texas A&M’s Connor Schulman claimed the men’s 60m hurdles title in 7.59. 
South Carolina’s JaMeesia Ford equaled the collegiate lead for 2024 in winning the women’s 200m in 22.36. 
Florida’s Wanya McCoy tied the collegiate lead in the men’s 200m with a time of 20.29. 
Kentucky’s Luke Brown won the men’s triple jump with a mark of 16.59m/54-5.25.
Ole Miss’ Tarik Robinson-O’Hagan won the men’s shot put with a mark of 20.38m/66-10.5. He also won the men’s weight throw on Friday.
Georgia’s Mikeisha Welcome won the women’s triple jump with a mark of 13.44m/44-1.25.
Florida’s Parker Valby won the women’s 3000m with a meet record time of 8:42.29.
Arkansas’ Peter Maru won the men’s 3000m with a meet record time of 7:47.26.
South Carolina won the women’s 4x400m relay with a time of 3:26.05.
Alabama won the men’s 4x400m relay with a time of 3:02.62.

Replay on the SEC Network

The SEC Network will air a highlight show of the 2024 SEC Indoor Track & Field Championships Monday, Feb. 26 at 8 p.m. CT.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *